The Cryptid Files: Mexican Devil

By . Category: . ISBN: 978-1-908195-02-9


Free shipping on all orders

The second book in the Cryptid Files series sees Vanessa travel to Mexico with her friend Nikki. There, she explores the mystery of the Chupacabra or Mexican Devil.

Download Book Guides for Free

Product Description

Vanessa found herself looking straight into a large, salivating mouth with razor-sharp fangs. Above it, two glowing red eyes pulsed to the sound of her heart…’

Vanessa’s summer holiday on a ranch in Mexico is turned upside down as she enters a shadowy world of mysterious animal death, magical curses and dark family secrets. As she tumbles headlong into the mystery of El Chupacabra she starts to understand why some call it the Mexican Devil.

In this, the second book of the Cryptid Files series, Jean Flitcroft once again takes us by the hand and leads us deep into her world of myth, magic and monsters.

The first book in the series is available: read it now! The Cryptid Files: Loch Ness


‘Vanessa is back with a thrilling adventure in Mexico, where her courage and intelligence are tested to the limit by the terrifying presence of el Chupacabra: a creature that feasts on the blood of animals. Jean Flitcroft has written another wonderful book, one that immerses you in the heat and scents of Mexico. It is so suspenseful you’ll find yourself missing your bus stop because you can’t bring yourself to put the book away!’ Conor Kostick, bestselling author

‘… [a] fast-moving tale.’ The Irish Times

‘Wonderfully atmospheric writing … gives that prickly-back-of-the-neck-feeling … Another gripping yarn that pulls the reader in to a mythical, exotic world. It is an assured piece of storytelling’ Books Ireland

‘ … a fast-paced mystery … that will keep readers hooked from beginning to end.’ Primary Times

‘Fans of mystery, suspense and the occasional scare, this one is for you.’ Bookfest 2011-2012 Recommended Reads

About Jean Flitcroft

Dr Jean Flitcroft lives near Dublin with her husband and three boys. She attended Holy Child School, Killiney, and studied science in University College Dublin. On being awarded a Wellcome Scholarship she went on to Magdalen College, Oxford University where she obtained her doctorate. She also holds an MPhil in Creative Writing from Trinity College Dublin. She started as a script writer for medical and scientific films and later became a travel writer when her obsession with travel won out. It was on these journeys around the world that she started writing books for children. She now has three children\'s books to her name, and they form a series called The Cryptid Files.The Cryptid Files: Loch Ness is the first book of this series, which covers the globe in pursuit of the weird and wonderful creatures of cryptozoology. It features perhaps the most famous cryptid of all: the Loch Ness monster. It is followed by The Cryptid Files: Mexican Devil, which is set in Mexico and explores the spine-tingling story of the blood-sucking Chupacabra. In the third book in the series, The Cryptid Files: Pacific Giants, Vanessa discovers another beast, cadborosaurus willsi, or Caddy for short, off the west coast of Canada.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterPin on PinterestShare on LinkedInShare on Google+Email this to someone


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Cryptid Files: Loch Ness”